Courtesy Runner 

Rule 8
1. Is only available to the pitcher and /or catcher and is optional throughout the game.

2. The same runner can not be used for both positions in the game.

3. Players who have participated in the game in any other capacity may not be a courtesy runner (CR).

4. A player may not be a “substitute” for another player in the same half-inning if she ran as a CR.

5. A CR may become a substitute if an injury occurs and there are no other players available.

6. The CR may not run for the “DP”  if the “DP” is hitting for either the pitcher or catcher.

7. The “plate umpire” must record CR participation.  Failure to report the use of a CR means she is an “unreported substitute.”  Penalty for this violation a team warning and then ejection and out if violated again. 

Case Book Plays:

1. Team A’s CR runs for the pitcher and later in that same ½ inning runs for the catcher.  Is this    legal?  

2.  Jones runs for F2 in the 1st inning, but Smith comes out to run for F2 in the 3rd 

      inning.  Is this legal? 
3.  F1 singles and is replaced at 1st by a CR.  On the next pitch, the CR attempts to

     steal 2nd base and sprains her ankle, but is safe on the slide.  Does F1 have to       

     replace CR? 
4. F2 singles and is replaced by a courtesy runner.  B2 walks.  Before the next 

Pitch, the CR is replaced by another CR.  Is this legal?
5. Jones enters the game as the CR for F2 in the bottom ½ of the 1st inning.  In 

The bottom ½ of the 4th inning F2 walks.  Must Jones or another player be the CR?  

6. Smith is a CR for F2 in the 1st inning.  She then CR’s for F1 in the 6th inning.  Is this legal?

7. Lee is a CR for F2 in the top half of the 6th inning.  She then enters to pinch hit for F4 later 

In that ½ inning. Is this legal?
8. S1 pinch runs for F7 in the 2nd inning, and then leaves the game.  She enters the game as a CR For F2 in the 8th inning.  Is this legal?
