The Infield Fly Rule

Rule 7

(from Referee Magazine, June 2003)

Definition: 

Rule 2-30, Page 25:  The Infield Fly Rule is, when declared by the umpire, a fair fly (not including a line drive or an attempted bunt) that can be caught by an infielder with ordinary effort when runners are on 1st & 2nd or all three bases are occupied and before there are two outs in the inning.  Any defensive player positioned in the infield at the time of the pitch shall be considered an infielder for the purposes of this rule.  The rule does not preclude outfielders from being permitted to make the catch.  The ball is live, the batter is out, which removes the force, but runners may advance at their own risk.  The runners may tag up and advance as soon as the batted ball is touched by a fielder.  If a declared infield fly becomes foul, it is treated as a foul ball, not an infield fly.

Note:  The rule exists to provide a fair balance between the offensive & defensive teams.

 What is not An Infield Fly:

1. A Line Drive.

2. A ball “bunted” in the air, even if it is high in the air.

3. If an infield fly becomes an ordinary foul ball when it falls untouched into foul territory between home and 3rd.

4. An “improperly declared” infield fly is not an infield fly!

5. Once an infielder turns her back to the infield when going for a ball, it is almost certainly not an “infield fly.”

Who May Catch an Infield Fly?

--Any fielder who is at the time of the pitch positioned in the infield.

--Also, any outfielder who entered the infield and moves under the ball with ordinary effort.

Therefore, theoretically it is possible for any fielder to catch an infield fly.

How to Judge An Infield Fly

--Don’t call it too soon……only after the ball has reached the highest point of its arc.

--Be sure the fielder has settled comfortably under the ball before declaring an infield fly.  (Ordinary Effort)

--Ask yourself, “Can the defensive team obtain an undeserved double play if I don’t call an infield fly?”  Then make your decision.

--Consider the “wind” in making your decision.

--“Sun” in the fielder’s eyes is not a factor when judging if a fly ball is an infield fly.

Who Should Call the “Infield Fly”?

It should be “shared coverage”  …. Both umpires have “equal” authority to call the infield fly.  When “fair/foul” is a consideration, the plate umpire should call, “Infield Fly if fair, the batter is out!”  The base umpire should “echo” the call.  Otherwise, responsibility should be split based on an imaginary line running between 1st & 3rd base.  The plate umpire takes the lead on the home plate side and the base umpire on the outside part of the line.  Remember, it is a judgment call and either umpire can make the call.

Status of the Ball

--The ball is live and in play during an infield fly.

--Runners may advance the same as on any fly ball.  If a declared infield fly falls untouched to the ground in foul territory and bounces fair before passing 1st or 3rd base, it is an infield fly.

Interference During An Infield Fly

If a runner is hit by a declared infield fly while off the base, the ball is dead and both the runner and the batter are out.  If the runner is on the base when hit then a dead ball is declared, the batter is out but the runner remains at the base occupied.

Intentionally Dropped Infield Fly Balls

--The Ball remains alive and in play.

--The “Infield Fly Rule” takes precedence over the intentionally dropped ball rule so they (the runners) may be put out if they attempt to advance.

--However, the batter is already out on the “infield fly rule.”

--Umpires, to clarify the situation may want to repeat “That’s an infield fly, that’s an infield fly, the batter is out, the batter is out!”

Accidentally Dropped Infield Fly

(Note:  Normally, confusion will exist when this happens)

The umpire should call, “that’s an infield fly, that’s an infield, the batter is out, the batter is out!”

Note:  The ball is alive and in play.  Communicate the situation to the players using this mechanic.

Infield Fly Case Studies

1. With R1 on 2nd base, and R2 on 1st base, (a) B3 bunts or (b) swings and hits a pop up which falls between home and 3rd and cannot be caught by any fielder.  Please rule:  

2. R1 and R2 are on 2nd and 1st bases, respectively, with no outs.  B3 hits a high pop foul between home and 1st base with F3 losing sight of the ball because of the sun.  The ball lands on foul ground without being touched and rolls into fair territory halfway between home and 1st base.  F1 picks up the ball and throws to F4 covering 1st, who touches R2 with the ball while the latter is off base.  Please rule:  

3. The umpire call “infield fly” but the ball curves to foul territory.  What happens now?  

4. With the bases loaded and less than two outs, B5 pops up in the infield.  The umpire calls “infield fly.”   F6 intentionally drops the ball, which then bounds away from her.  R1 on 3rd takes off for home, just as the umpire declares the ball dead because F6 intentionally dropped the ball.  The umpire then returns R1 to 3rd.  The coach of the team at bat claims that the ball should not have been declared dead, since the batter would have been out anyway due to the infield-fly rule. Please rule:  

5. With one out, R1 is on 2nd and R2 is on 1st. An infield fly by B4 touches R2 who is standing on 1st.  Is the ball now dead?  

