Interference in the Three-foot Lane

(from Referee Magazine 7/05)  (Revised 1/24/07)
The three-foot lane interference rule is one of the most interesting, controversial and misunderstood rules in the rulebook.  For example, I was astounded when one nationally recognized authority stated at a clinic that the batter-runner could not cause three-foot lane interference whenever she was running in foul ground.  Another renowned expert claimed at a different seminar that the batter-runner could be called out for three-foot lane interference on a throw to the plate.

Both statements are incorrect, but if two top instructors are misinterpreting the rule, what about the understanding common everyday umpire?  The ASA rulebook (8-2E) reads, “the batter-runner runs outside the three-foot lane and , in the judgment of the umpire, interferes with the fielder taking the throw at 1st base; however, the batter-runner may run outside the three-foot lane to avoid a fielder attempting to field a batter ball.”  NFHS (8-2-5), &  NCAA (9-9d-2) both concur.  Let’s examine the purpose and intent of the three-foot lane rule, how to interpret it, how to apply the rule realistically, which umpire makes the call and how to sell the call.
Correcting these Interpretations
In the first instance, I politely broached the subject with the trainer during a break in his presentation.  When the instructor adamantly stated he was correct, I asked him why it was necessary to draw the 3-foot lane line if such an exemption existed.  Only a line showing the beginning of the last half of the distance to 1st base would be needed and a lane wouldn’t be necessary.

I could see by the instructor’s expression that the light came on.  He then, after a perusal of the rulebook, agreed with me.  To his credit, he corrected his error when the clinic resumed.
Many umpires and some instructors believe the batter-runner can be called out for 3-foot lane interference on a throw to the plate if she screens the review of the catcher or is struck by a throw when running in fair territory the last half of the distance to 1st base.  In that situation, the batter-runner could be called out for interference but only if the runner intentionally interferes with a thrown ball, the same rule that applies to all thrown balls.  Intentional interference with a thrown ball is entirely different from 3-foot lane interference.

Remember, in circumstances other than 3-foot game situations, the runner establishes her own basepath.  Runners can run anywhere they wish without possible penalty except when running the last half of the distance to 1st base on a play being made to first or when running more than 3-feet out of their established basepaths when attempting to avoid a tag.

Origin & Intent of the Rule

The 3-foot lane rule dates to the prehistoric “kitten ball” (early forms of softball) days of the 1880’s and was necessary to eliminate batter-runner interference with the fielder taking the throw at 1st base.  In most cases the interference occurs when the batter-runner runs to the left of the foul line and screens the fielder taking the throw at first or when the batter-runner is struck by the throw to first.

The imaginary box.  Nearly all 3-foot lane interference violations on batted balls occur when the throw to first originates from behind the batter-runner from within the imaginary box area in front of home plate.  Definitively, the imaginary box area starts at the rear point of home plate, extends to the beginning of the 3-foot lane halfway down the 1st base line, goes 90 degrees left to the pitcher’s circle, extends another 90 degrees left to the middle of the 3rd base foul line and left again back to the rear point of home plate.  Essentially, the imaginary box is a 30-foot square within the 60-foot square of the diamond.  Most violations occur on throws from the half of the imaginary box nearest the 1st base foul line.

About the throw.  To call 3 foot lane interference, the fielder playing the ball must make a throw to 1st base.  The fielder cannot claim she didn’t throw the ball for fear of striking the batter-runner with the ball.  For an interference call to occur, there must be a throw.  Therefore no throw, no interference, no call.  It’s that simple.  The umpire must also consider the quality of the throw.  Interference should not be called unless the throw has a realistic possibility of retiring the batter-runner.  

While a throw that bounces and strikes the batter-runner running to the left of the foul line is not truly a quality throw, 3-foot lane interference should be called if the umpire judges that there was a reasonable chance the batter-runner would be out on the play.  Conversely, a poor throw that’s too wide, too high or pulls the fielder off the bag with no realistic chance to retire the batter-runner should not result in a 3-foot lane interference call.  That’s true even if the batter-runner is struck by the throw while out of the runner’s lane. 

Regarding 3-foot lane interference caused by a collision by the batter-runner with the fielder at 1st, understand that a collision is unlikely on a good throw that has a realistic chance to retire the batter-runner.  On a good throw, the fielder almost always catches the ball on the fair side of 1st base and collisions between the batter-runner and the fielder almost never happen on a good throw.  There is even less of a chance of a collision between the batter-runner and the fielder on a good throw when the double 1st base is in use.

About the runner’s path.  When judging 3-foot lane interference, the plate umpire should observe the batter-runner’s path.  A batter-runner who runs the entire distance to 1st base in fair territory and not in compliance with the rule will be called out for interference more readily when struck with the throw when approaching 1st base than the batter-runner who ran completely within the lane and was struck in the last step to first as she veered to her left to step on 1st base.  Do not call interference on the batter-runner if she beats the throw to 1st base and is struck by the thrown ball as she contacts or passes the base.  Remember, the batter-runner is not required to be in the runner’s lane, she can just not interfere while she is out of the lane.

Realize that the batter-runner can be inside, to the left of the foul line, in fair territory without being in jeopardy when the throw is coming from foul ground and legally outside, to the right of the 3-foot line when the throw is coming from fair territory.  Remember that the lines of the 3-foot lane are within the lane and the batter-runner whose foot lands on one of the lines is within the lane providing her other foot is also in the lane.  If the batter-runner’s foot is in the air when the other foot is in the lane, the batter-runner is not out of the lane.    In that situation, make the same call as when the batter’s foot is in or out of the batter’s box.  If the batter-runner’s foot is completely out of the lane and on the ground when struck by the ball, she is out.
Who makes the call?  While either umpire can make a 3-foot lane interference call, the plate umpire has primary responsibility for making the ruling.  That’s because the base umpire must be moving to a calling position for the play at 1st base and with runners on base, the base umpire is positioned behind the 2nd baseman or shortstop.  Any time runners are on base, the base umpire is not in a good position to see 3-foot lane interference.

Status of the ball.  When the 3-foot lane interference is called, the ball is immediately dead.  Other runners are placed on the bases reached at the time of the interference in ASA, NFHS, and NCAA.  However, in most situations, unless the umpires have definite knowledge to the contrary, other runners probably didn’t advance to the next base on the play and will be returned to the bases occupied at the time of the pitch. 

Selling your call. Interference calls usually must be sold.  When 3-foot lane interference occurs, extend both arms overhead and assertively call, “Time!” or, “Dead ball!” as you prefer.  Then sell the call by pointing at B1 with your left hand and loudly calling, “That’s interference,” while giving the out signal.  “The runner’s out!  She’s out of the 3-foot lane!

Play Situations

1. In a fast-pitch game, with no runners and no outs, B1is called out on strikes.  The pitch eludes F2 and rolls toward the 1st base dugout.  B1 runs for 1st base and is completely in fair territory when F2’s throw strikes her about 15 feet from 1st base.  B1 is safe @ 1st base.  Ruling:  B1 is not out.  Although B1 was not in the running lane and was struck by a thrown ball, she did not interfere with F2’s throw to 1st base because F2 had sufficient room to throw to 1st base.  Additionally, F2’s throw was errant and did not have a realistic chance to retire B1.  Thus, the play stands.

2. B1 hits a chopper in front of the plate.  F2 moves out, fields the ball and fires to 1st base.  The throw strikes B1, who is running in fair territory about 20 feet before 1st base.  B1 makes 1st base safely.  Ruling:  Interference is called because B1 was out of the runner’s lane and interfered with F2’s throw to 1st base.  
3. In a fast-pitch game, B1 bunts the ball down the 1st base line.  F2 springs forward and quickly grabs the ball and fires to 1st base.  B1 is running in fair territory and is struck by F2’s throw about 25 feet from home plate.  B1 is safe at 1st base.    Ruling:  Interference is not called on B1 since B1 had not yet reached the 3-foot lane.  The play stands and B1 remains on 1st base.

