MCON TRAINING

OBSTRUCTION
WHAT IS OBSTRUCTION

Obstruction is a delayed dead ball and is signaled and called immediately wen it occurs.  Make a judgment at this time where you think the runner could have gotten if the obstruction had not happened.  Subsequent action by the defense could increase the initial award determination.  The Delayed Dead Ball signal is displayed continually while the runner is between the bases where the obstruction occurred.

If the obstructed runner is not put out, no further action is taken.  If the obstructed runner is put out prior to reaching the base, in your judgment, that she would have reached had there not been obstruction, call and signal, “Time.”  Then award that runner the base, in your judgment, she would have obtained had there not been obstruction.  Award other runners the bases, in your judgment, they would have obtained had there not been obstruction.  If the obstruction was flagrant, eject the offender.

Obstructed runners cannot be put out between the bases where they were obstructed except for missing a base, leaving a base before a fly ball is first touched, or an act of interference.  A runner, not previously obstructed, who collides flagrantly with a fielder who is obstructing her, shall be ejected from the game but is not called out.  The ball is dead and her replacement is awarded the base the obstructed runner would have obtained.  

CATCHER’S OBSTRUCTION

Catcher’s obstruction is a delayed dead ball and is signaled immediately when it occurs.  The signal is held until the batter-runner and all other runners have advanced one base.  If he batter-runner and all other runners advance one base no further action is taken.  If the batter-runner and /or any other runner(s) does not advance one base, the coach of the offensive team is given an option to take the result of the play or the effect for catcher’s obstruction.  The effect for catcher’s obstruction is the batter is awarded 1st base and other runners advance only if forced except if the obstruction occurs during a squeeze attempt at the plate.  Then all runners are advanced one base.  Catcher’s obstruction should only be called on the batter’s attempt to make contact with the pitch.  If obstruction occurs before the release of the pitch, stop play, give the batter and catcher time to reset and start again. 

THE WRECK

A wreck usually requires no call or signal.  If a wreck looks like interference or looks like obstruction but in your judgment it was neither, then signal Safe and continue with your duties on the play.  By signaling Safe, you tell the teams that you have seen the action, you have made a judgment on the action, and you have determined that no violation occurred.  Be prepared, at the end of playing action, to explain your judgment.

CASE BOOK SITUATIONS

1. F6 fakes a tag as R1 approaches 2nd base.  R1 decides to continue on to 3rd base where she is thrown out.  Please rule.
2. B1 rounds 1st base on a base hit.  F3 is in her way, but B1 does not elect to try for 2nd base, because the ball was already at 2nd base.  Is this obstruction?  

3. With 1 out, R1 on second and R2 on 1st, B4 hits a ground ball directly to F1 who throws to F5 for the force on R1 at 3rd.  F6 grabs R1 to prevent her from advancing to 3rd.  Is this obstruction?  

4. With r1 on 1st base, B2 hits a pitch with one foot completely outside the batter’s box.    F6 fields the ball.  F4 obstructs R1 advancing to 2nd base.  What is your ruling?  
5. With R1 on 2nd base and R2 on 1st base, F5 who neither has the ball nor is attempting to field a batted ball, obstructs R1 when R1 is (a) attempting to advance on a hit, or (b) returning to 3rd after being trapped between third and home.  Please rule.  
6. A throw from F9 draws F2 into the base path of R1.  The ball and R1 arrive simultaneously causing contact between F2 and R1.  F2 drops the ball and R1 scores.  The contact is not intentional or flagrant.  Please rule.  
7. B1 collides with F3 when rounding 1st base after hitting a single (a) with no chance to advance, or (b) while attempting to advance on a hit.  Is this obstruction in either case?  
