Rule 8
Discussion Questions
Batter-Runner & Runner

1. No runner may return to touch a missed base after she has touched a base beyond the missed base?  

2. It is interference when R1 slides into the glove of F6 and knocks the ball loose? 

3. If a courtesy runner fails to report, she is considered an illegal substitute?

4. While the pitcher has the ball in the 16-foot circle, a batter-runner who over runs 1st base toward right field, turns left and moves directly toward 2nd base and stops, she is committed to 2nd base?  


5. Runner on 3rd base with no outs. The batter receives a walk and the catcher throws the ball to the pitcher in the circle.  The runner may stay off the bag until the batter-runner reaches 1st base?  

6. When a batter-runner has one foot touching completely outside the running lane and is contacted with a thrown ball, she is not out for interference provided that the ball contacts her in fair territory?  


7. If a courtesy runner is injured, the replacement must either be a legal substitute or the pitcher/catcher for whom she is running?  

8. With the “look back rule” in effect, if two or more runners are off their bases, only one runner may be called out and the other returned to the last base touched? 
9. [bookmark: _GoBack] A runner is out if a fair batted ball strikes her while not in contact with a base before it passes an infielder? 

10. Catcher’s obstruction is ignored if the batter and all runners advance one base safely? 

11. In the top of the 1st inning, the pitcher and catcher are identified as those players listed in the lineup as playing those positions, but may actually play another defensive position to begin the bottom of the 1st inning. They are the players of record in regard to the use of a courtesy runner? 

12. A player may not be a substitute for another player in the half-inning that she ran as a courtesy runner? 

