Scoring
Rule 9
Study Guide
Things To Remember About Scoring

a. No runs can score if the 3rd out is a force-out or if the batter does not reach 1st base.

b. With 2 outs, if the base missed was the first to which the batter or runner was forced to advance, no runs would score.

c. A runner, forced to advance home because of “Ball 4,” is entitled to home as soon as “Ball 4” is declared.

1. With R1 on 2nd and R2 on 1st and one out, B4 hits a long fly that appears might drop in, but is caught by F8.  R1 advances home but misses 3rd base.  R2 fails to retouch 1st base and advances to 3rd base.  What is your ruling?

2. With one out, R1 is on 3rd and R2 is on 2nd base when B4 hits a long fly ball that is caught by F8.  R1 remains in contact with the base but R2 has nearly advanced to 3rd.  The throw to F4 arrives at second base ahead of R2’s return.  Does the run score?

3. With two outs and the bases loaded.  B6 receives ball four.  R3 touches second and is then tagged off base for the 3rd out before R1 has reached home base.  Does the run score?

4. With two outs and R1 on 1st,  B4 hits an inside-the-park home run.  In circling the bases, B4 misses second.  Does the run score?

5. With 2 outs, R1 is on 3rd base and R2 on 1st base when B5 receives ball 4.  An overthrow at third permits R1 to reach home.  In advancing (a) R2 tails to touch second, or (b) B5 goes to second base but fails to touch 1st base.  Does the run score?

6. With R1 on 3rd base, R2 on 2nd base and R3 on 1st base and one out, B5 hits safely to right field.  R1 scores, R2 misses 3rd (seen by the umpire) and scores.  R3 is thrown out at 3rd base.  The defense makes a legal appeal for R2 missing 3rd.  How many runs score?

7. With the bases loaded and one out, B5 hits a line drive to the right field fence.  R1 and R2 score.  R3 is thrown out at the plate.  B5 goes to 3rd, but misses 1st.  How many runs score?

8. With R1 on 2nd, B2 hits a ground ball between F7 & F8.  R1 touches 3rd and scores, but the 3rd base coach believes R1 did not touch 3rd and yells at her to return.  F6 receives the relay throw, and instead of throwing to F4 to put out B2, who made a wide turn at second, F6 throws to F5 at third in time to tag R1, who is attempting to return.  Is R1 out or safe?  

