Mid County Official Network

Softball Rules Training

Baserunning II
(Revised 2/27/07)
1. With R1 on 1st, B2 hits a ground ball to F3 who (a) steps on 1st and then tags R1 who has remained on 1st, or (b) tags R1 while R1 is on 1st and then steps on 1st.  Who is out?

2. With R1 on 2nd and R2 on 1st, B3 hits toward 3rd.  R1 interferes by touching the batted ball or by illegally hindering F5 in fielding or throwing.  R2 reaches second before the interference.  Rule on this play?

3. R1 is on 1st when B2 hits a fly ball to F9 who overthrows 1st in an attempt to double off R1.  The throw goes into the dugout.  R1 fails to (a) retouch 1st, or (b) touch second on the way to third.

4. With R1 on 2nd base and R2 on 1st base, F5 who neither has the ball nor is attempting to field a batted ball, obstructs R1 when R1 is (a) attempting to advance on a hit, or (b) returning to 3rd base after being trapped between 3rd and home.  
5. R1, who is on 1st base, attempts to steal 2nd base.  F2 (a) does not make a throw or (b) throws the ball into center field, and in either case, F6 fakes a tag on R1.  Rule on this play. 

6.  B1 collides with F3 when rounding 1st base after hitting a single(a) with no chance to advance, or (b) while attempting to advance on a hit.  
7.  R1 is on first when B2 hits a fly ball to right field.  R1 goes half way and F9 makes a diving catch.  F9 then throws to F3, but throws the ball into the stands before R1 can retouch.  Does R1 have to retouch 1st base before being awarded 3rd base?   

8. A throw from F9 draws F2 into the base path of R1.  In (a), the ball arrives just before R1 and F2 has it in her possession.  Contact then occurs between F2 and R1, F2 drops the ball and R1 scores.  In (b), contact occurs just prior to F2 catching the ball.  In both cases, the contact is not malicious.  
